Previous Page  3 / 4 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 3 / 4 Next Page
Page Background

Types of HPSAs

HPSA scores can be calculated using three different methodologies:

• Low income

• Physician to population ratio

• Geographic

There are three different types of HPSAs:

• Mental Health

• Dental

• Primary Care

Knowing a HPSA score can provide some context about a facility.

For example, a geographic HPSA could be designated because of

distance between one facility and another. Conversely, a low income

HPSA can occur in an urban, highly populated area or a rural, lower

populated area. These examples are not exclusive scenarios for these

HPSA designations.

What should you, a health care professional, know about


• Many loan repayment and scholarship programs use HPSAs to

determine areas eligible for service. One example of this is the

National Health Service Corps.

• All Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) are automatically

designated as a HPSA, although their individual HPSA scores may

vary. Not all FQHC – Look-a-likes are necessarily designated as


• HPSA scores can change!

• Know who your PCO contact is: