Previous Page  3 / 8 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 3 / 8 Next Page
Page Background

How States Determine Areas of Need

Medically Underserved Areas are defined as Health Professional Shortage

Areas (HPSA) or Medically Underserved Areas/Populations (MUA/P). HPSAs

and MUAs are federal designations used to determine (among other things)

where J-1 waivers are applicable.



Also see:


determine if a practice site is located in a designated shortage area.

Potential State Variations

• Primary care vs. specialty care

• Application periods & filing deadlines

• Non-compete clauses

• Liquidated damages

• Filing fees

• Reporting requirements

• Mandatory period of service

• Eligible employer requirements

Other Agencies That Offer Waivers

• Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC)

• Delta Regional Authority (DRA)

• United States Department of Health and Human Services (US DHHS)